Total newbie question

Nov 15, 2009 at 10:32 PM

Hi!

I'm totally new in WinCE (i use Linux on all our boards), but i'd like to learn :)

Few questions :

- i've got the BSP from TI. It's a bunch of images, as far as i can see. Is source not requred for porting?

- What are the requred tools for development (aside from WinCE 6 R2)?

- Can you develop programs for WinCE with this tools?

Thanks in advance. I will try to run WinCE on beagle :)

Regards,

Matej

Nov 16, 2009 at 12:37 AM

Hi Matejg,

There seem to be two downloads from TI, one is just a set of demo images (bootloader, Xloader, CE Image), and the other contains all all the source. The second one (the one with source) is:

S1SDKOMAP 
DVSDK-OMAPWINCE-EA 

From memory once you install that you will find some zip files somewhere in the tree which you have to unzip and install under WINCE600 (read the txt files for exactly where).

You need to use Visual Studio 2005 (not 2008), but can't use the Express Edition. There is a trial version available from MS.

I have followed Joel's steps with a C3 beagleboard, and I also added all the latest updates. I installed them in the order listed on this page:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windowsembedded/ce/dd430902.aspx

(I went all the way and updated to R3, even though Joel's tests hadn't gone that far - seems to work for me).

I then installed the Windows Embedded CE 6.0 R3 Update Rollup:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=18a0bc2b-35ad-4b04-bf80-3eb701ceaa2b&displaylang=en

I didn't install any other QFEs.

One problem that I noticed is that the path that the TI software installs itself to is too long and causes an "Out of Buffer" error when compiling. I changed the name of the root directory under C:\WINCE600\Platforms to something shorted (I used TIBB)