Writing software that takes advantage of the DSP...

Feb 12, 2010 at 1:10 AM

My current platform status is that I have BB REVC and the WinCE BSP 061300 working with 256mb Ram, USBHost(not as stable as it could be), DVI 720p (not HDMI though due to the pixel clock standard requireing an extra 2 MHz, and I have not set up the DPLL to compensate), vfpv2 architecture, PowerVR,  and an xp like interface that I was working with during testing. I intend to use to BB with WinCE for an automation project (this is all for educational purposes at a university). That being said, I was looking for advise on implementing a PID into my design for process control. My present experience in automation is limited to this project, but I am a student of electromechanical engineer, and I have gone through four courses encompassing mechanical, electrical, control system and signal analysis. My current methods I have considered using are as follows:

1. Attempt to use code developed for the on board DSP

2. Attempt to use code developed in VS2008 to take advantage of the VFP

3. Buy a TI Picolo dev kit for about $90 and Implement the PID using VisSim for visual development and system analysis